Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » DUI Laws » State DUI Laws » California DUI Laws » California DUI Laws

California DUI Laws

California Dui Laws

According to California DUI laws, it is illegal to drive within the state if residing within the following conditions. In terms of individuals under the age of 21, this includes: possession of alcohol within the vehicle, a driver with a blood alcohol level of 0.01 or more, and drivers who had previously ingested any type of alcohol, such as that of cough syrup or prescription drugs, for instance. The general public is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle if they possess a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent of more.

In terms of individuals with a "commercial" drivers license, they are prohibited from driving if they possess a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent of more. In terms of individuals who are under the age of 18, however, any amount of a blood alcohol level is prohibited. Individuals who exist as repeat offenders are also expected to adhere to increased limitations as they may not operate a motor vehicle even while possessing a smaller percentage of 0.01. These individuals will be in great need of a good California DUI attorney in order since they will have already possessed prior incidents.

California DUI laws set forth that jail time for the first offense range from that of 96 hours to 6 months. In addition, fines will range from $390 to $1,000. License suspension will last up to 6 months. They must also complete a "driving under the influence program," as well as be ordered to install an ignition interlock device. The second California DUI offense will incur from 90 days to a year of jail time as well as fines mirroring that of a first time offender.

However, license suspension will drastically increase to that of two years. They must also complete the program specified for first time offenders. Third time California DUI offenders will be faced with jail time of 120 days to that of a year with identical fines as the previous two offense categories. License suspension, however, will again jump higher to that of 3 years. The fourth California DUI offense will incur prison time of 180 days to a full year with, again, fines much the same as the previous offenses. License suspension will reach a new height in terms of a period of four years.

In 2009, California also instituted new DUI laws, that which any adequate California DUI attorney would be quite cognizant of. One such new California DUI law is that of the "DUI Zero Tolerance Law for Repeat Offenders." These individuals who are caught driving with a blood alcohol level of .01 percent or more will be subject to possibly have their license revoked. A DUI Reckless Driving law has also been instituted.

This California DUI law sets forth that the court is required to order an individual convicted of "alcohol-related reckless driving" to partake in a "licensed program." The aforementioned program must comprise distinct activities, such as that of "education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions." This is required for individuals who possess prior alcohol-related reckless driving convictions within a 10 year span.

NEXT: Colorado DUI Laws

Related Articles

Link To This Page


Find an DUI Lawyer
Find an MA Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer


Colorado DUI Laws Colorado DUI Laws