Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » DUI Laws » State DUI Laws » Illinois DUI Laws

Illinois DUI Laws

Illinois Dui Laws

Illinois DUI arrests lead to fines and imprisonment with just your first offense. Those caught committing an Illinois DUI are believed to be under the influence of alcohol. Illinois clearly shows that those who commit an Illinois DUI with aggravated circumstances are more severely punished.

The state focuses on how far over the legal drinking limit you were as well as if there was someone 16 years old or younger riding in the vehicle with you. Illinois DUI arrests are harsh but can be worse with repeated offenses or aggravated circumstances such as the ones stated above.

First Offense:

Just one Illinois DUI arrest can lead to a 1 year jail sentence. If there is a passenger 16 years old or younger in the vehicle then that jail term for an Illinois DUI can be increased an additional 6 months. The maximum fine starts at $2,500 but can be raised $500 if your blood alcohol content is .16 or higher and then raised an additional $1,000 if you have a 16 year old person in the vehicle with you when an officer suspects you of committing an Illinois DUI.

Second Offense:

A second Illinois DUI arrest can lead to 1 year in prison or 240 hours of community service. At least five days in jail is mandatory following a second Illinois DUI arrest. If there is a child in the vehicle at the time of the Illinois DUI the jail term can reach 1-3 years and if there is an aggravated blood alcohol level then 2 days are added to the sentence. The fine for the second offense is $1,000 with increases of $1,250 and $25,000 for aggravated circumstances. If the second offense is within 20 years of the first Illinois DUI, the license suspension is a minimum of 5 years.

Third Offense:

Anyone willing to risk a third Illinois DUI should know they could face 3-7 years in jail with possible 3 extra years depending on the aggravated circumstances. The fines start at $2,000 and can be doubled for a high blood alcohol content. A child involved in the DUI can add on an additional $25,000.

The court has the right to take your license away for up to 10 years. You may also be placed into 25 days of community service if a child is present at the Illinois DUI arrest.

Any additional Illinois DUI arrests can lead to 3-7 years in jail, up to $25,000 in fines and permanent license termination. The court does not sympathize with flagrant repeat offenders who continually put their own and other citizen lives at risk.

If you need legal advice and assistance, contact Illinois lawyers.

NEXT: Indiana DUI Laws

Related Articles

Link To This Page


Find an DUI Lawyer
Find an MA Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer


Indiana DUI Laws Indiana DUI Laws